Chosen Solution

So I recently opened my PS4 controller to give it a basic clean as I had an issue with the R2 trigger, which is now fully fixed and working great. However upon reassembling the controller my touch pad has gone crazy. When trying to type a message to someone the cursor pulls back into the centre on the keyboard, so I can type g or G if i’m feeling creative. Any advice please

So I have replaced a motherboard only my PS4 pro controller and found the same issue. I took a touchpad from my other ps4 pro controller and that seemed to be the issue. There are a couple of videos on YouTube of ppl showing some small fixes such as resetting the controller and switching between two controllers. After attempting those fixes with no result, I decided to swap touch pads, when I did that the issue was apparent. More than likely your touchpad is defunct/damaged from disassembly or wear and tear. Recommend trying the swap if you have another controller (preferably of a similar model), this will give you the info if you need to replace the touchpad.