Chosen Solution

I’m having all sorts of issues with my PS4. Got it back from a repair shop (got the HDMI port replaced) and when I tried to update I got error code *SU-42118-6 and ever since this error I’ve had the blue light of death. When I can get to safe mode (which is rarely) I get the same update error before the console restarts into BLOD or I lose input. Google says this is a connection issue between the disc drive and the motherboard, so I looked inside and sure enough it looks like my ribbon cable is broken. My question is, is the BLOD issue caused by the update error? Do I just need to replace the ribbon cable or could it be a motherboard issue? Or even a hard drive problem? Thanks in advance

blod is rarely caused by a hdd, try replacing the ribbon and updating before anything else