Chosen Solution

Hi there so recently my MacBook Pro 2012’s power button stopped working basically no matter how much I press on it has no response and it is quite frustrating to have to remove the battery connection and then connect charger to turn it on. If I accidentally shut it down. I have seen people fixing this problem by tearing down the keyboard and replacing with new components. As I’m on a tight budget and don’t want to deal with tearing apart my laptop is there a software solution when I can assign any key on the keyboard to act as the power button? Just to clarify all of the keys work fine except the power button. Thanks its2009

Sorry there is no software fix here for this problem. The power switch is part of the Keyboard assembly as you can see here:

The signal is not handled within the keyboard as such you can’t re-assign things. You’ll need to replace the uppercase assembly or with a bit more work you can replace you can replace the keyboard alone. MacBook Pro 13" Unibody (Early 2011-Mid 2012) Upper CaseMacBook Pro Unibody (A1278) Keyboard You’ll need to follow this guide MacBook Pro 13" Unibody Mid 2012 Upper Case Replacement and then if you do the keyboard you’ll need to under the 80 screws which hold it on the uppercase.