Chosen Solution

The power button in my iPhone se doesn’t do anything even tho it clicks. It has stopped working right after I had hard reset a couple weeks ago. At the same time, when I turn the phone off, right after it turns off it always displays the Apple logo (as if it was turning on) for a couple seconds but then goes dark again for a couple seconds, it constantly blinks like this until the battery dies. I have tried many things since, I have updated my iOS from 12 to 13 but that didn’t do anything. I have even completely reset my phone to factory settings but that has not also solved the problem. I don’t know where to go next as it does not seem to be a hardware issue but updating does not work either. And I can’t find anything in the internet either.

Good Evening, I am going to give this my best shot. TDLR at the bottom. So starting with the issue of the apple logo turning on right after it turns off. I repair iPhone 4 phones a LOT. I have had this issue with multiple iPhone 4s mostly because of the battery not being installed correctly or if it came loose during a drop. This is also sometimes the fault of a bad battery connector to the logic board or if the battery was mashed into the logic board without care and messed up both the connection and connector to the logic board. However, Then there comes the issue of the power button not working. If you were able to turn on the phone, then you were able to update the iOS, unless you did this with iTunes. If it stays on and doesn’t turn off without the power cable connected to the phone then it probably isn’t a battery issue. It gets to the more technical side of repairs. It’s starting to sound more like an issue with the flex cables or possibly the logic board. There are two things it could be, it could be the flex cable or the button itself. Even though the button clicks, the flex cable that transfers the signal to the logic board could need replacing. That is unless it fell down really hard and loosened up the cables which is kind of unlikely. Otherwise, there is always the last-ditch effort of replacing the whole power button entirely. But considering you are able to power the phone off and on as you described I really don’t think this is the issue. I am leaning towards the flex cable. If all else fails, then it’s probably a logic board issue with the phone not receiving the correct signals. Kind of stumped on this one, but this is the best I could really do with the limited knowledge of the iPhone SE. I have had only seen the phone maybe once or twice. Most of this is just my general iPhone knowledge coming into play here, so I cannot give you my 100% assurance in my answer. It sounds like maybe a visit to the Genius Bar may help you if you want that 100% assurance. Their diagnostics are completely free especially if it is running the latest version of iOS. They can tell you what can be wrong with it and the cost for repair with no contract or decision that you are going to get it repaired by Apple. Don’t worry, I took it there myself when I wanted to know solutions for obscure problems that I was having on some of my devices. TDLR; There could be multiple issues with the symptoms that you are describing. If you dropped it or any other type of physical damage, this could cause maybe some cables to become loose including the battery which could cause the issues you are describing as it has happened during my installs of batteries. Otherwise, it could be the power flex cable inside the phone that may need to be replaced. Another issue that I think is highly unlikely is a logic board issue. However, I have never seen this issue in iPhone SEs and I cannot give you a 100% answer as to why it’s not working. I am also highly inexperienced in handling this phone as I have never really come across it. The best chance at getting that 100% “this is the problem” is to take it to Apple for a free diagnostics test.