Chosen Solution

An iPhone 6 I got from a friend won’t turn on, charge, or even get recognized by iTunes when I plug it in. I went to a repair store to get a diagnosis and the repair guy there said it was something with my power button and that my phone needed a reset (which couldn’t be done without the power button), but I feel like my power button not working wouldn’t prevent my phone from being discovered in iTunes. Any suggestions for me before I go and buy a new power button for the phone to see if he was right? And the phone wasn’t water damaged or damaged physically, it’s in great shape.

gusjsph, that is correct. I would at least try to do a soft reset/hard reset. iTunes and/or your computer will not recognize a dead phone. So I would start with a new cable, if that does not work clean the lightning detector. No change, then you will have to disassemble your phone and replace the lightning connector and since it is already open, replace the battery as well. Be careful with the home button since you may lose the ability of your touch ID if you try to replace it. Use these guides to work on your phone.