Chosen Solution

My phone is 2 years old, and I’m now getting completely random letters and numbers when I try to type . I can’t even unlock the phone now as I can’t enter my password correctly. This is apparently a known issue with Motorolas, but I can’t find any fixes than the ones I have already tried, and which haven’t worked: Factory resetPutting the phone in the freezer to cool it Do you think replacing the screen will fix this? Many thanks for your help.

Hi @conradp , It does seem that there is a problem with the phone’s digitizer screen (touchscreen) It may be easier to replace the complete display assembly, LCD screen + digitizer as it is not that expensive and hopefully it will resolve the problem. Here’s a link to a video in which the phone is dis-assembled which will help as it shows at which point you can replace the display assemblies. Here’s a link to just one supplier. It is only shown to give you an idea of the cost of the part. There may be others that will suit you better. Just search for Moto G5S LCD screen and digitizer part to get results for suppliers.