Chosen Solution

Hi my panasonic tx-43gx555b was working 100% fine and all of a sudden the screen went black and I still could hear sound. I have changed the main power board and that didn’t help. When I shine a bright light at the TV whilst it’s got power I see some logos on the screen such as amazon prime. I’m unaware if the tcon board needs to be replaced, some posts say if I’m able to see logos with the power on the tcon board is fine and it’s a back light issue. Any ideas anyone?

Hi, I think you have an issue with your backlight. By changing the main PSU board eliminated the possibility that your LED driver circuit is bad. If you are able to disassemble your screen and have access the strips, you can test the actual strips if they are working (most likely they don’t). Be careful when removing the screen and also when touching the inside of the TV as there are high voltage capacitors on the PSU board that can give you a lethal zap if you are not careful. Also be mindful when removing the LCD from the diffuser panels as it can break very easily. Once you disassembled the screen, you’ll see the LED strips and you can order the replacement based on your chassis number. It is a good practice to change all the strips at the same time to prevent further issues and imbalances of illumination brightness.