Chosen Solution

i burned a cd a few days ago. It worked fine on my desk top and lap top. Today it won’t play at all. i can open the properties box although it does so very slowly. However sometimes i get a box telling me to drag and drop files to burn. The other cd’s in my collection all work perfectly so I know it’s not the drive. The cd is a CD-R 52x 700MB and has 250 open space. The cd is brand new fresh out of the box and upon examining it it looks perfectly clean. So what could be the problem? Update (12/10/2016) Thank you for the come back. But the problem is …….the cd played the day before and the day before that and so on for several days. I have other cd’s that play with no problem but this one that I have been using no longer opens in either my desk top or my laptop. I looked at the surface of the disk and it looks as good as when it came from the box. I don’t see any dirt or maybe there’s something on the disk that I cannot see. Any suggestions on how to clean it anyway. Thank you. P.S. This a working Disk. I have been adding and deleting files on and off over the last few days. Could that have an effect on allowing it to open or not? Thank You.

Burning CD/DVD can be problematic I usually choose one or two burning speed steps below the maximum. 48x or one lower in this case. One other thing you could look for is if there is a new firmware for your burner since that can help. Because the firmware tells the drive which speed to use for which brand.