Chosen Solution

Hi all. Recently my iPhone XS got stuck in a boot loop due to water exposure to the proximity sensor. I removed the problematic front sensor assembly and bought a replacement from iFixit. However, when I pug in the new sensor only the microphone and speaker seem to be working; the ambient light sensor and proximity sensor are nonfunctional. I know that Face ID will not work after a replacement, but I was under the impression a replacement part (especially from iFixit) would restore the functionality of the other front-panel sensors. What I’ve tried: Testing the new sensors without connecting them to the case (direct light exposure, calling someone and putting my finger in front of the proximity sensor)Unplugging and re-pluggging in the ribbon cable to make sure it pops into place securely. Another interesting data point is that when I plug in the old, broken sensor assembly into my phone when it is already powered on, the microphone and speaker also work, but again, not the ambient light sensor or proximity sensor. When you power off the phone it gets stuck in a boot loop again until the problematic sensor is unplugged. Is it known that the ambient light sensor and proximity sensor don’t work after a front-panel replacement? Or is it possible that the new part I received was broken, or I managed to break it during the repair? Perhaps something else wrong with my phone? I’d really appreciate any insight here. Thanks in advance! Repair guide I was following: iPhone XS Earpiece Speaker and Front Sensor Assembly Replacement