Chosen Solution

Hi guys, I have taken this old Mac mini from my parents house. They goy rid of it because it really was almost unusable and needed to be fixed. It used to start up but it was so slow that any operation was a pain. So I took it, I command + r booted and wiped it. Than I alt+command + r booted this time but nothing happens now. I cannot access recovery disk anymore. I cannot do anything. I tryed resetting pram, no use. I am sorry I cannot even say how old this Mac is but I guess it should be from 2014 or so. any help please? It is in really good shape and it would be a pity to throw it away. Update (12/11/2020) Thank you all guys. I could finally install High Sierra via usb pen drive. it is still damned slow so I’ll swap the old 5400 disk with an Ssd

Do you have a second Mac system available? We either need to create a bootable OS installer thumb drive or use Target Disk mode to connect the two systems together so you can install it from the other system. But before we do that are you able to run the onboard diagnostics to make sure the system is working at all? Using a USB keyboard, restart the system and press the D key which will get you into diagnostics.

Hi Tom, Use a USB install of either OS X 10.8 “Mountain Lion” or OS X 10.9 “Mavericks” and then . . . ? https://everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_m… Capable of supporting 16 GB of RAM using two 8 GB modules.