Chosen Solution

I just replaced the battery in my Macbook Pro with the IFixIt kit. The installation went great and I charged the battery as suggested in the video. I then adjusted the power settings so the computer would not shut off and let it run down off the charger. This also went great. In the morning I plugged the laptop in and the charger went to orange. After a couple of hours, I turned the laptop on and it does not show a battery status. I looked at the system report and it says there is no battery installed. If I unplug the wall charger the laptop crashes. Any assistance you can provide is appreciated. Update (05/12/2020) I would like to add that I just put the old battery back into the laptop and it recognizes it. When I switch back to the new battery, it says there is no battery. Update (05/13/2020)

@pplunkett3 - Then that tells us clearly the new battery is defective! Contact iFixit to get a replacement. But post that CoconutBattery snapshot here so you can reference to this question & answer.

Have you tried resetting your System Management Controller? The SMC is responsible for managing battery/power-related issues on Mac devices. Shut down your Mac.On your built-in keyboard, press and hold all of these keys:Shift  on the left side of your keyboardControl  on the left side of your keyboardOption (Alt)  on the left side of your keyboardWhile holding all three keys, press and hold the power button as well.Keep holding all four keys for 10 seconds.Release all keys, then press the power button to turn on your Mac.