Chosen Solution

When you re-assembled it, did you reconnect the cable for the battery connector?

I discovered that after my coffee spill the machine did not recognize the battery. A big X was in the tool bar. I shut it own twice and the third time it fell asleep never to wake again. I read the keyboard should be replaced and I was already to shell out the money as I found one for 30 dollars and I live outside USA for now so I thought I should get it. Then I found another thread about the keyboard cable causing the machine to fall asleep. The forum said they removed the battery when the machine was powered with the adapter. So I thought yeah why not! I removed the battery and the machine went right to the log in screen and started up. So if the tool bar shows an X for battery its the battery.