Chosen Solution

I have replaced the screens on many iPhone 8 Plus phones, but its only recently that I’ve been having trouble. Every single time I replace the screen, I have trouble with the customer not being able to hear phone calls through the ear piece speaker. I end up having to change the front facing camera cable. I use an anti-static mat, anti-static wrist guards and I’m extremely careful removing that component and placing it onto the new screen. What could be the problem?

There are solder points on the back of the front facing camera assembly. Failure to keep the solder points covered can cause problems. Look where the assembly was stuck to the screen. You may find a piece of black tape. This was covering the solder points. If you can, remove it from the old screen and reattach it to the front facing camera assembly. If you can’t save the tape, use kapton tape to cover the solder points.

Did you ever figure this out? I’ve been having this same exact issue lately. I did 1 iPhone 6, 1 6S plus,  2 7Plus, and 2 8 Plus over the weekend… and every single one of them has had ear piece problems. Front camera works but the earpiece is not. I’ve never had these kind of issues before and I’ve been doing these for years. And the 7+/8+ I transfer I’ve the tape and still nothing. I’m starting to think maybe Apple is sabotaging aftermarket repairs again in this new 12.2 update.