Chosen Solution

Hi Everyone! I purchased an HP desktop (Pavilion TP01-2050, 2021 model) because I wanted to teach myself more about the inner workings of a computer. I’ve been a Mac owner for quite some time, but have been loving the configurability options that these desktop PCs offer. I’d like to be able to take the computer apart and learn as I go and am up for replacing, upgrading, adding anything. However, I am new and don’t know where to begin. Does anyone have any cool suggestions on what to do? Or any book, website, etc. suggestions? Thank you for any help and guidance you can give!

Hi Monique, I’d say a good place to start is with the HP documentation for your computer. Most of their manuals are going to be written with computer beginners in mind, so they won’t be assuming knowledge you don’t necessarily have. HP Pavilion Desktop PC TP01-0000i Manuals I’d start with the document titled (drum roll please) Start Here. It will give you a high level view of the system and software, then you can move on to the User Guide. Once you’re through those, dig into the Upgrading and Servicing Guide for information on replacing parts and taking things apart. The general components will be comparable to other computers; motherboard, case, RAM, storage (SSD, HDD, M.2, etc.), CPU, power supply, I/O panel, fans, etc., so understanding of those parts of your system will easily extend to others. If you have questions or run into parts you don’t understand, feel free to ask questions. You can also hit up the HP community forums where you’ll find plenty of HP expertise available. Home - HP Support Community