Chosen Solution

Hello everyone, as the tital says, I am searching for the pinout of the new SSD’s in the new non touchbar Macbooks. As far as I know they are PCIe NVMe drives. So in theory any M.2 NVMe SSD should work as long as the pins match. That’s why I want to know the Pinouts of the new Apple SSD so I can map them on a breadboard for example so I can later make a flex cable prototype and share the results if everything works. In theory everything should work. This project could help us all so we can easily swap our drives for less expensive drives. This way we can add 1TB NVMe drives for example for really cheap compared to Apple’s prices. Would love to get some help on this to get this going :-) Cheers

Sorry this is a no go! Apple uses a still newer custom interface from the older models in the newer Function Key model. You can’t alter a M.2 SSD to work as the size is also very different (won’t fit).