Chosen Solution

Recently replaced the battery of my 2009 13" MacBook Pro ( new battery sold by IFIXIT), as well as a fresh install of the El Capitan, however I am not getting the 10 hours of battery life as advertised. I would approximate as closer to 4-5 hours. I am wondering if my battery isn’t lasting as long as it should due to heating/cooling issues….any suggestions?

First thing here is to reset SMC. Follow this Apple T/N: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC) on your Mac. Next thing here is let the computer charge a good 16hrs. Then disconnect the charger and run the battery down. Once its worn down recharge again for a good 18hrs. What you are doing here is making sure SMC is calibrated to your new battery. Here’s a good write up: Calibrate & Maintain Your MacBook Battery For Best Performance. I recommend you download this little gem of an App: coconutBattery it will give you a better view on what is happening with your systems battery & charging. Additional Reference: Maximizing-performance