Chosen Solution

Hey Dan, Is the Aura SSD a blade SSD? My issue is I NEED to replace my HDD because I can’t back it up due to an update, rendering my iMac useless (literally)! So I would prefer to just get a regular SSD with an adapter rather than going the trouble of replacing the blade SSD. This way I can plug in my old HDD after and transfer data. Does this make sense?

Here are the following upgrade options for your Mac: https://eshop.macsales.com/upgrades/imac…? It would be easier to replace the 3.5" inch HDD with a 2.5" SSD. Taking apart the iMac is a hassle already. You shouldn’t take it apart if you aren’t a professional.

Of course it makes sense, the blade SSD is expensive and slower than a standard m.2. Adapter does work, i got on in my retina MBP Update (24.07.2018) iMac Intel 27" EMC 2546 Blade SSD Replacement Thats how it is done. If you changed a Iphone Display htan u can do this aswell. I changed my Blade SSD with a M.2 SSD: https://www.amazon.de/Green-Interne-Fest… The M.2 SSD is around 30 percent faster! The stock does 420 MB/s and the M.2 with adapter does about 550 MB/s