Chosen Solution

Earlier today i was using my iPhone 6 perfectly fine. Then when I came home and made a phone call, checked out social media. During the middle of using it the screen just went out. I thought the phone died at first, but when i plugged it in to the charger, i heard the charging sound. I took a really close look at the screen, and i can still see the icons! It is still responsive and i can see the color but, it is completely black! I tried going to settings - general- reset- and rest all setting. I tried a hard reset and even a complete restore. Still nothing! I went to the apple store and they said they can’t fix it, and gave me no reason why they couldn’t. Any suggestions for DIY?

That sounds like the backlight (which would require board level repair) but I would try a simple screen replacement first to rule that out. iPhone 6 Screen Replacement